Study in Malaysia

Undergraduate studies consist of bachelor degree levels and professional studies while postgraduate studies consist of master degrees and PhDs. Generally, higher education at the diploma level is for secondary school certificate (SPM) holders from the age of 17 onwards whereas pursuing a bachelor degree requires post-secondary qualifications such as STPM (which is equivalent to the GCE ‘A’ level) or other equivalent pre-university qualifications.

The Malaysian education structure can be divided into pre-tertiary and higher education levels. There are two governing authorities in the education sector. Pre-tertiary education (i.e. from pre-school to secondary education and teacher education) is under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education Malaysia (MOE) while higher education is the responsibility of the Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia (MOHE).

The Universities of Malaysia are among some of the top universities in the world; the total number of universities in Malaysia is more than 100 universities including foreign institutions. This includes one of the world’s best institutions.